• Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Pain
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Nausea
  • Seizures


One ounce of usable marijuana


Yes, six plants allowed, no more than three may be mature.




  • Alaska Stat. §§17.37.10 - 17.37.80 (2007)
  • Alaska Stat. §17.37.010& (2007)


Yes, the caregiver must be 21 years of age or older. The caregiver can never have been convicted of a felony controlled substances offense. The caregiver must be listed by the patient as either the primary caregiver or an alternate caregiver. Only one primary caregiver and one alternate caregiver may be listed in the registry for a patient. A person may be a primary caregiver or alternate caregiver for only one patient at a time, unless the primary caregiver or alternate caregiver is simultaneously caring for two or more patients who are related to the caregiver by at least the fourth degree of kinship by blood or marriage.

    How To Get a Alaska Medical Marijuana Card

    In order to be afforded legal protection of the Alaska Medical Marijuana law, qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the state patient registry and possess a valid identification card by submitting a marijuana card application with the state of Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics.

    Prior to mailing the application, review and ensure that all required information has been completed. If the marijuana card application is not complete, it will be denied and you will not be allowed to re-apply for a period of 6 months.

    In Alaska, the use of cannabis for medical purposes is governed by the Alaska Medical Marijuana Act. If you have a debilitating medical condition and need this medicine for treatment, a written document from your doctor will allow you to use, cultivate and transport this drug under the act. A written statement from a physician or an Alaska marijuana card also permits patients and their caregivers to purchase cannabis from any of the dispensaries across the state.

    Possessing cannabis without a state-issued card is punishable by law as cannabis is still classified as a Schedule 1 drug by the federal Drug Enforcement Administration. However, there are numerous dispensaries that serve card-carrying patients and offer them a wide variety of options when it comes to treatment. The patient, caregiver and an alternate caregiver must be registered with the state for the medical use of marijuana and marijuana products.

    Find a licensed marijuana doctor nearby to get your recommendation for a medical marijuana card.
Marijuana Doctors