Maine Medical Marijuana Card Certification and Renewal

    Maine Medical Marijuana Laws
    Maine Department of Health & Human Services

    The Maine Department of Health & Human Services is, among other things, a gateway to apply for a medical marijuana card. Before applying for a Maine medical marijuana card, you must be evaluated by a medical doctor, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who is registered through the Maine Department of Health & Human Services Division of Licensing & Regulatory Services to be able to certify patients for medical cannabis. The MJ doctor or provider must certify in writing that you would benefit from a medical cannabis treatment program for your medical condition. Currently, there is not a listing of qualifying conditions a patient must have to be certified. You may want to check with your selected MJ doctor well before your appointment to see what medical documents you may need to bring to your appointment to assist in the review of your medical history and condition. Also, telemedicine may be an option for your appointment, so if interested, you may want to ask your MMJ doctor if this is a possibility. The MMJ doctor or provider determines if your medical condition would benefit from the use of medical marijuana and certifies based on this determination. Some of these conditions include HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, chronic pain, epilepsy, and PTSD. National Medical Marijuana Services makes it easier to find a qualified MJ doctor or provider by providing a searchable listing of MMJ providers near you.

    Due to COVID-19, telemedicine is allowed in Maine. If interested in telemedicine, contact your MMJ doctor to determine if this is a possibility. Regulators issued guidance on social distancing, including regarding signage, disinfecting, hours for seniors, and limiting the number of people allowed in stores. Expired ID cards may be accepted.




  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Crohn's disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Huntington's disease
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Nausea
  • Nail-patella syndrome
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)


Two and one-half ounces


Yes, patients (or their primary caregivers) may possess no more than six mature marijuana plants.


Yes, a minimum of eight.


• Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, §2423-D (2010)
• Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, §§2422; 2425 (2010)
• Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 22, §2383-B(5), (6) (1999)
  (amended 2001)
• Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 22, §2383-B(3)(e)
  (amended 2001)


Yes, primary caregiver is a person providing care for the registered patient. The caregiver must be 21 years of age or older. The caregiver can never have been convicted of a disqualifying drug offense. Patients can name one or two primary caregivers. (Only one person may be allowed to cultivate marijuana for a registered patient).


Yes, authorizes visiting qualifying patient with valid registry identification card (or its equivalent), to engage in conduct authorized for the registered patient (the medical use of marijuana) for 30 days after entering the State, without having to obtain a Maine registry identification card. Visiting qualifying patients are not authorized to obtain in Maine marijuana for medical use.

    Maine Medical Marijuana Card - How to apply and get one!

    After being certified by your MJ doctor, you must apply for your Registry identification card or medical marijuana card. To be able to purchase medical cannabis products from a state licensed dispensary under the Maine Medical Marijuana Program, you must apply for a medical marijuana card through the Maine Medical Marijuana Program Registry Identification Card system and be issued a medical marijuana card. If a patient is under the age of 18, an approved caregiver must be designated who must apply and register on behalf of the patient. There are cultivation provisions in the state’s regulations for approved medical marijuana patients.

    Maine Adult Use Marijuana Identification Cards. How do I get one?

    Maine also has an adult use marijuana program separate from the medical marijuana program. The process for becoming licensed in the State of Maine adult use marijuana program involves first obtaining conditional licensure, then obtaining local authorization, and, finally, obtaining an active license. This process was designed to ensure adult use marijuana licenses would be reviewed first by the Office of Marijuana Policy before local community review and approval. It’s important to note that part of the conditional licensure requirements are criminal history records checks and fingerprinting.

    Find a licensed marijuana doctor nearby to get your recommendation for a medical marijuana card.

    Marijuana Doctors

    Indica vs Sativa, THC vs CBD. What are my options?

    Medicinal marijuana and low-THC cannabis products are available in Maine for qualified patients. Legal products are medical marijuana CBD oil, tinctures, capsules, vape products and flower, to name a few.

    Find Maine Medical Marijuana Program information and guidelines. These include steps to take to be approved for a medical marijuana card and cultivation rules and regulations.

    Maine Department of Health