Utah Medical Marijuana Use Registry. What is it?

    Utah Medical Marijuana Laws
    Utah Department of Health
    Utah Medical Cannabis Program

    The Utah Electronic Verification System (EVS) is the system through which qualified medical marijuana patients apply for a Utah medical cannabis card. To be able to use medical cannabis legally, you must be approved by the Utah Department of Health and issued a medical cannabis card. It’s important to not begin your EVS application online until immediately before or after your appointment with a medical cannabis doctor or provider who is qualified to recommend medicinal cannabis treatments. To be able to qualify for a medical cannabis card, you must meet in person, or via telemedicine if allowed, with your MJ qualified medical provider, and the doctor must fully assess your medical history and condition and document this information in your patient record. If your treatment provider for your qualifying condition isn’t a qualified MMJ provider, he or she may register as a qualified medical provider or refer you to an MMJ qualified medical provider. Registration as a qualified medical provider is limited to Utah licensed medical doctors, osteopathic physicians, advanced practice registered nurses, and physician assistants who meet certain conditions, including being licensed to prescribe controlled substances.

    Due to COVID-19, telemedicine in the state of Utah is not for the initial appointment, but allowed for follow-up. If interested in telemedicine, contact your MMJ doctor to determine if this is a possibility.

MEDICAL MARIJUANA REGISTRY

No

QUALIFYING CONDITIONS

  • ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease)
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Epilepsy or a similar condition that causes "debilitating seizures"
  • Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
  • Nausea (must be persistent)
  • Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts
  • PTSD "that is being treated or monitored by a licensed mental health therapist"
  • Any terminal illness where life expectancy is less than six months
  • Any condition resulting in hospice care
  • Any rare condition that effects fewer than 200,000 persons in the United States as defined by Section 526 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act and is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts

PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS

State-mandated “legal dosage limit” for medical cannabis products that shall not exceed 20 grams of THC per single dose. Raw cannabis” must be dispensed in a “tamper-resistant” sealed container with a 60-day expiration date. Patients may obtain up to a 30-day supply of medical cannabis products. A 30-day supply of “unprocessed cannabis” should not exceed 113 grams by weight.

HOME CULTIVATION

No

STATE LICENSED MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES

Yes

CAREGIVERS

Yes. Patients may designate no more than two caregivers, who may purchase, transport, or assist the patient in his/her use of medical cannabis in a dosage form.

    Utah Medical Marijuana Card - How to apply and get one!

    Before applying through the EVS, you’ll need to have or create a Utah ID account. After creating a profile in EVS, your qualified medical provider must log in online to the EVS and complete their section of your application, including their recommendation for your medical cannabis treatment. After your cannabis doctor or provider completes their section of the application, you will need to return to your profile in EVS and pay the medical cannabis card application fee. After EVS submission, the Utah Department of Health (UDOH) will review your marijuana card application and confirm whether all requirements have been met. The application review process will be completed 15 days or less from the date the application was submitted for adult patients 21 and older with a qualifying condition. If all requirements have been met, the UDOH will issue the medical cannabis card and email a copy of your card to you which you may save or print out. You then may purchase medical cannabis products from a medical cannabis pharmacy. Please remember you must bring your medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo ID, such as a driver’s license, to the pharmacy. Patients under 21 of age with a guardian may apply for a medical cannabis card; however, the patient must be approved by the Compassionate Use Board (CUB). Caregivers and guardians are subject to criminal background checks when applying for Medical Cannabis Caregiver Cards and Medical Cannabis Guardian Cards.

    Find a licensed marijuana doctor nearby to get your recommendation for a medical marijuana card.

    Find a Doctor 

    Indica vs Sativa, THC vs CBD. What are my options?

    Medicinal marijuana and low THC products are available for qualified patients. In many states, legal marijuana products include marijuana CBD oil, edibles, tinctures, capsules, vape products, and flower, to name a few.


    Find more information pertaining to Utah Medical Cannabis Program, including general FAQs, approved medical conditions, and steps to take to obtain your medical cannabis card as a patient.

    Utah Medical Cannabis