Virginia Medical Marijuana Use Registry. What is it?

    Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws
    Virginia Department of Health Professionals
    Virginia Board of Pharmacy

    You must be certified by a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner to be able to possess medical cannabis. A practitioner must register with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy to be able to issue written certification. National Medical Marijuana Card Services makes the process of finding a MJ doctor easier by providing a searchable list of certified cannabis doctors in your area. Many MJ practitioners offer telemedicine, so you may want to ask your selected certified physician if this is an option.

MEDICAL MARIJUANA REGISTRY

Yes

QUALIFYING CONDITIONS

  • Any condition as recommended by a practitioner
  • Alzheimer's disease-related agitation
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Arthritis
  • Cancer or other conditions that cause severe nausea
  • Crohn's disease
  • Diabetes
  • Epilepsy or other conditions that cause seizures
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS or other conditions that cause cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Huntington's disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis or other conditions that cause "severe and persistent muscle spasms"
  • Neuropathy
  • Parkinson's disease
  • PTSD
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Spinal cord injury or other conditions that cause severe pain
  • Any condition requiring hospice care

PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS (CBD SPECIFIC)

A processed cannabis plant extract that contains at least 15 percent cannabidiol but no more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol, or a dilution of the resin of the cannabis plant that contains at least 50 milligrams of cannabidiol per milliliter but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol or THC-A which is defined as a processed cannabis plant extract that contains at least 15 percent tetrahydrocannabinol acid but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol, or a dilution of the resin of the cannabis plant that contains at least 50 milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol acid per milliliter but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol. The possession of such products are not legal under state law, but is eligible for an affirmative defense from criminal prosecution: "In any prosecution under this section involving marijuana in the form of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil as those terms are defined in §54.1-3408.3, it shall be an affirmative defense that the individual possessed such oil pursuant to a valid written certification issued by a practitioner in the course of his professional practice pursuant to §54.1-3408.3 for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of (i) the individual's intractable epilepsy or (ii) if such individual is the parent or legal guardian of a minor, such minor's intractable epilepsy."

HOME CULTIVATION

No

STATE LICENSED MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES

No, but legislation signed into law in 2016 seeks to establish regulations governing the in-state production of therapeutic oils high in cannabdiol and/or THC-A.

    Virginia Medical Marijuana Card - How to apply and get one!

    After being certified by a Virginia Board of Pharmacy-registered doctor, you must apply for registry to the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. As part of the application process, you must provide a copy of the written certification issued by your registered practitioner, proof of Virginia residency, such as a tax receipt and a government-issued identification card, proof of identity, and a current Virginia driver’s license, to name a few. The online application to register can be found on the Virginia Department of Health Professionals’ Initial Applications site, and the registration must be renewed annually on another. Please note there is a registration fee. Caregivers, parents, legal guardians of minor patients and incapacitated patients must be issued a written certification and board certification to possess THC-A and CBD Oils. It will take 7 to 10 days for processing the registration application after received by the board. The MJ registration card will be mailed to the address recorded on your application.

    Find a licensed marijuana doctor nearby to get your recommendation for a medical marijuana card.

    Find a Doctor 

    Indica vs Sativa, THC vs CBD. What are my options?

    In Virginia, current law restricts the use of CBD oil and THC-A oil to a Virginia Board of Pharmacy-registered MMJ patient, registered caregivers, parents, and legal guardians. Currently, Virginia law provides for an affirmative defense for qualified individuals to possess cannabidiol or THC-A oil as defined in Virginia Code. An affirmative defense to a criminal charge or civil lawsuit is a set of facts or a fact other than those alleged by the plaintiff which, if proven by the defendant with evidence, mitigates or defeats the legal consequences of a defendant’s otherwise unlawful conduct. You must have an unexpired valid written MJ certification from a board-registered practitioner and a current active MJ patient registration issued by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy to assert the affirmative action defense, among other things.


    Find Virginia Medical Marijuana Use Registry User Information and Instructional Guides. These include general FAQs, steps to take to participate in the Virginia MMJ program as a patient, and registration and MMJ card renewal information.

    Virginia Board of Pharmacy - Medical Cannabis